COVID Fighters support a safe start at school

We are pleased to provide reliable and rapid PCR testing by COVID Fighters to ensure a safe start to the new 2021/22 school year. Specifically, during the safety phase at the start of the school year, we evaluate oral rinse tests of students in elementary and special schools in Vienna, as well as students in all types and levels of schools in Lower Austria and Upper Austria.

Sampling in the school

The students are given a small plastic cup filled with a harmless saline solution by the teachers in the morning. Specifically, this is a 0.9 % physiological NaCl solution with which the students rinse their mouths for 60 seconds. Here, normal rinsing in the mouth is enough; it is not necessary to bend the neck backward and gargle in the throat. So overall it is a simple and at the same time pleasant way of sample collection.

Before collecting the samples, the students stick the respective labels on the dry and clean lids of the tube. The labels are located in the respective Ninja Pass and are anonymized.

After rinsing the mouth, the students put the contents back into the sample cup and close it tightly. The sample cups are then collected by the teacher and placed in a "class bag". All class bags will be placed in a safe place for collection no later than 8:30 am.

Transport of the samples

Transport drivers from the COVID Fighters pick up the samples and bring them safely packed and secured to our Giga Lab at the VAZ in St. Pölten. Here, the COVID Fighters have transformed a large event hall into a high-performance laboratory in a very short time.

The careful analysis of the samples

At the VAZ St. Pölten, the samples are unpacked and evaluated anonymously and in compliance with data protection regulations. The evaluation takes place in so-called pools of 10, i.e. 10 individual samples are evaluated together. If a pool sample is positive, the 10 individual samples are analyzed again individually with previously secured source material. This determines which sample was positive.

The employees of the COVID Fighters work in the VAZ St.Pölten of course under correct adherence to the prescribed, strict hygiene guidelines.

Transmission of the sample results

In a logistical feat, hundreds of thousands of samples can be evaluated per day at the VAZ St. Pölten. The results are entered anonymously into a database. In the case of a positive sample, the assignment to a specific person is only made via the Ministry of Education or the respective school. COVID Fighters analyze the samples in a period of less than 24 hours. By 7 a.m. of the following day at the latest, all samples have been analyzed and the results anonymously communicated to the Ministry of Education.

In this way, we are doing our part to ensure a safe start to the 2021/22 school year.

View into our laboratory area at VAZ St.Pölten

To give you an insight, we took some photos on the set-up days of the VAZ. At that time, the hall had not yet been completely converted to laboratory operation.

en_USEN

COVID Fighters unterstützen einen sicheren Schulstart

Wir freuen uns, mit den verlässlichen und raschen PCR-Tests der COVID Fighters für einen sicheren Start ins neue Schuljahr 2021/22 zu sorgen. Konkret werten wir in der Sicherheitsphase zu Schulbeginn Mundspültests der Schülerinnen und Schüler der Volks- und Sonderschulen Wiens sowie der Schülerinnen und Schüler aller Schulformen und -stufen Niederösterreichs und Oberösterreichs aus.

Probenabnahme in der Schule

Die Schülerinnen und Schüler bekommen von den Lehrerinnen und Lehrern  in der Früh einen kleinen Plastikbecher, der mit einer harmlosen Salzlösung gefüllt ist. Konkret handelt es sich dabei um eine 0,9 % physiologische NaCl Lösung, mit der die Schülerinnen und Schüler 60 Sekunden den Mund spülen. Hier reicht normales Spülen im Mund, es ist nicht nötig, den Hals nach hinten zu beugen und im Rachen zu gurgeln. Es ist  also insgesamt eine einfache und zugleich angenehme Art der Probengewinnung.

Vor der Probengewinnung kleben die  Schülerinnen und Schülern die jeweiligen Etiketten auf die trockenen und sauberen Deckel des Röhrchens. Die Etiketten befinden sich im jeweiligen Ninja Pass und sind anonymisiert.

Nach der Mundspülung geben die Schülerinnen und Schüler den Inhalt zurück in den Probenbecher und verschließen diesen gut. Die Probenbecher werden dann von der Lehrkraft eingesammelt und in einen “Klassensack” gegeben. Alle Klassensäcke werden um spätestens 8 Uhr 30 an einem sicheren Platz zur Abholung bereitgestellt.

Transport der Proben

Transportfahrer der COVID Fighters holen die Proben ab und bringen sie sicher verpackt und gesichert  in unser Giga-Labor im VAZ in St. Pölten. Hier haben die COVID Fighters in kürzester Zeit eine große Veranstaltungshalle in ein Hochleistungslabor umgewandelt.

Die sorgfältige Analyse der Proben

Im VAZ St. Pölten werden die Proben ausgepackt und anonymisiert und unter Einhaltung der Datenschutzbestimmungen ausgewertet. Die Auswertung erfolgt in sogenannten 10er Pools, das heißt, jeweils 10 Einzelproben werden gemeinsam ausgewertet. Sollte eine Poolprobe positiv sein, werden die 10 Einzelproben mit vorab sichergestelltem Ausgangsmaterial nochmals einzeln analysiert. So wird festgestellt, welche Probe positiv war.

Die Mitarbeiter der COVID Fighters arbeiten im VAZ St.Pölten selbstverständlich unter korrekter Einhaltung der vorgeschriebenen, strengen Hygienerichtlinien.

Übermittlung der Probenresultate

In einer logistischen Höchstleistung können im VAZ St. Pölten hunderttausende Proben pro Tag ausgewertet werden. Die Resultate werden anonymisiert in eine Datenbank eingespielt. Im Fall einer positiven Probe erfolgt die Zuordnung zu einer bestimmten Person nur über das Bildungsministerium bzw. die jeweilige Schule. COVID Fighters analysieren die Proben in einem Zeitraum von unter 24 Stunden. Bis spätestens 7 Uhr morgens des Folgetages sind sämtliche Proben analysiert und die Ergebnisse anonymisiert dem Bildungsministerium mitgeteilt.

So leisten wir unseren Beitrag für einen sicheren Start in das Schuljahr 2021/22.

Blick in unseren Laborbereich im VAZ St.Pölten

Um Ihnen einen Einblick zu geben, haben wir an den Aufbautagen der VAZ einige Fotos gemacht. Die Halle war zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch nicht fertig auf den Laborbetrieb umgerüstet.

de_DEDE